Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a DM? – Answer

One activity across all social media platforms that has people second-guessing themselves is screenshotting. On the face of it, it should be a harmless thing to do, however, the reality is that some social media platforms notify users if someone has made a screenshot on their profile or on a message thread featuring them.

In this article, we are going to be answering this question as well as looking at if it’s possible to get around Snapchat notifications. Let’s take a look.

Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a DM? – The answer

The answer to this question isn’t entirely straightforward due to the fact that on the most part, users won’t be notified when someone screenshots their direct messages. However, there are instances where they will.

If you are just having a normal conversation with someone on Instagram’s direct message feature and take a screenshot of the chat then you can be safe in the knowledge that the person you’re talking to isn’t going to be notified.

However, if you are using the vanish mode feature, where media and messages sent via DM’s vanish after a set period of time, then screenshot notifications come into play. This feature is meant to provide users with ultimate privacy so Instagram deems it necessary to notify users if someone has screenshotted one of their vanishing videos, pictures or messages before they have vanished.

If you receive a notification that someone has screenshotted one of your direct messages then you may want to consider blocking that user as they have violated your privacy and you may no longer trust them. To do that, follow these instructions:

  1. Log on to your Instagram account via the app.
  2. Use the search bar to search for the account that you want to block.
  3. Once on their profile, select the three-dotted icon on the top right of their profile.
  4. Select ‘block’ and then either just block them or block and report.
  5. That person will now no longer be able to direct message you.

How to activate vanishing mode

Vanishing mode was introduced to Instagram in late 2020 and has proved popular with users due to the added privacy it offers. If direct messaging users on Instagram on vanishing mode is something that appeals to you, but you don’t know how to utilise it, then please follow these instructions.

  1. Log in to Instagram via the mobile phone app.
  2. Select the direct message icon on the top right-hand side of the screen and choose who you would like to message as normal.
  3. Swipe up from the bottom of the chat screen to activate vanishing mode.
  4. You will know that your swipe has worked because Instagram will automatically change to dark mode and a selection of ‘shush’ emojis will pop up.
  5. The other person in the chat will receive a message letting them know that they have entered vanishing mode.

To turn vanishing mode off simply scroll up from the bottom of the screen like you did when you first activated the feature. Instagram will revert back to its normal mode and any messages you send on that thread from now on will remain there permanently. All messages sent while on vanishing mode will be deleted.

Please note that vanishing mode can only be used in conversation with one other user meaning it isn’t yet possible to activate it in a group conversation.

It is also still being rolled out across the world so, as it stands, it is only available in certain territories. If our instructions above don’t work then assume that the feature hasn’t yet launched in your area.

Does Instagram notify you when someone screenshots your story?

The social media platform that first introduced this feature was Snapchat, and given the fact that Instagram has copied a lot of things from Snapchat, it begs the question of whether screenshots are now notified on there too.

Another common question that people want answering in relation to Instagram and screenshotting is to do with the stories feature.

The main reason why people have questions relating to this is because if someone takes a screenshot on Snapchat, the app that Instagram copied for their stories feature, then users are notified.

When it comes to Instagram stories, though, users are allowed to freely take screenshots of each other’s posts. You won’t be notified if someone screenshots your story and if you take a screenshot of someone else’s story then they also won’t be notified.

Basically, screenshot as much or as little as you like on Instagram stories. Even if you have notifications turned on for that person, you won’t be notified if they screenshot your story.

Conclusion

To conclude, if you take a screenshot on a standard Instagram direct message then the other person will be none the wiser.

However, if you take a screenshot while using vanishing mode on Instagram stories then the other person will be notified of what you’ve done. This may well result in a situation where you lose the trust of that user and end up getting blocked.

Photo of author

Connect: LinkedIn

Author

Andy

Andy is a Professional Content Editor with expertise in a whole host of areas (or so he tells us anyway). His main interests are sports, tv/film and social media. He has reviewed over 100 apps so far for Apps UK.

Read more from Andy

Apps UK
International House
12 Constance Street
London, E16 2DQ