How to see who blocked you on Twitter – Mobile & Desktop

Blocking someone on any social media app often means that the person you block can no longer interact with you in any way, shape or form. Whether this be direct messaging, liking/commenting on your posts, or even seeing what you’ve posted, all forms of interaction are impossible and that is no different when it comes to Twitter.

If you have suddenly found that you can’t interact with someone on the app then you may be thinking that you’ve been blocked by them. In this article, we are going to look at how you can check for sure while also looking at the other side coin and examining how you can go about blocking certain accounts if you feel they are sharing content that you don’t want to see or harassing you in any way.

How to see who blocked you on Twitter – on mobile and the web

The process of finding out who has blocked you on Twitter is quite a simple one and follows the same process regardless of whether you are using the app via a web browser or on the mobile phone app. Unfortunately, there isn’t a way to find out via the settings button or through you account information, so you will need to do some minor investigative work.

First of all, if you want to check who has blocked you then keep an eye out for the following signs:

  • Has someone stopped appearing on your timeline?
  • Has someone stopped replying to your direct messages?
  • Has someone stopped interacting with your tweets?

If you have noticed any of these things then you will need to do the following to find out if they have blocked your or not:

  1. Sign in to your Twitter account
  2. Type the persons account name into the search bar. This can be found on the top right hand side of the screen on the web version of Twitter or via the magnifying glass icon on the bottom menu bar on the mobile phone app.
  3. If the account you’re looking for doesn’t come up then type in their exact username with an ‘@’ in front of it. This should redirect you to the account in question.
  4. If they have blocked you then you will be greeted with a message that reads ‘@user blocked you. You are blocked from following them.’ However, if you do see the account as normal then it means that you aren’t blocked.

How to find out how many people have blocked you

If you want to find out how many people have blocked you in total then there is a third party website that is able to tell you this information.

Although it won’t tell you the names of each individual account that has blocked you, it will give you an idea of just how many people want nothing to do with you on the world of Twitter. If the number is quite high, maybe reconsider how you use the platform!

To do this, please follow these steps:

  1. Head to Blolook and log in with your Twitter login credentials.
  2. Grant website access to your account information on Twitter.
  3. The next page at loads will tell you the number of accounts that have blocked you and how many of them are ‘mutual’ (where you have both block each other).

How to block accounts on Twitter

If you are sitting on the other side of the blocking fence and are looking to block certain accounts on Twitter then the process is also very simple. The most common reasons for blocking accounts on Twitter include harassment in your DMs, an account sharing tweets that you’re uncomfortable with and accounts publicly sharing your personal information.

Ultimately, though, you don’t need a reason for blocking someone – if you want to do it then you are well within your rights to no matter the reason why.

To complete the blocking process via the mobile phone app, please take these steps:

  1. Log on to your account.
  2. Locate the account that you wish to block and select the three dotted icon on the upper right hand side of the screen, above the ‘following’ button.
  3. From the subsequent dropdown menu, select block ‘@username’ and then confirm it on the next screen that pops up.
  4. That person will no longer be able to interact with you in anyway and vice versa.

To complete the blocking process via Twitter for web, the process is much the same except the the three dotted icon is located to the left of the direct message icon rather than above the ‘following’ button like it is on the app.

Conclusion

To conclude, the process of finding out who has blocked you is a straightforward one. Providing you know how to navigate Twitter and locate accounts, then you will have no problem tracking down who has blocked you. Generally most things are pretty easy to do on the app, whether that’s seeing who blocked you or changing your name on Twitter.

We hope that the information provided within this article has helped to explain the process, while also providing you with some tools to take a deeper look into just how many people have blocked you.

Photo of author

Connect: LinkedIn

Author

Andy

Andy is a Professional Content Editor with expertise in a whole host of areas (or so he tells us anyway). His main interests are sports, tv/film and social media. He has reviewed over 100 apps so far for Apps UK.

Read more from Andy

Apps UK
International House
12 Constance Street
London, E16 2DQ