Although Facebook is known mainly as an app and website where users can post life updates and photo albums, it has also become an incredibly popular hub for video content.
Whether it be your friend posting a video from a concert that he has attended or a business posting a video to draw in new customers, you will likely get a lot of posts on your news feed with video attached.
For those of us who do post videos on Facebook, we are able to see how many views each of our videos gain. But are we able to see which specific accounts have watched them?
In this article we are going to examine this question while also looking at some of the other video data available to Facebook users. Let’s get started.
How to see who viewed your video on Facebook – Is it possible?
At this moment in time, Facebook doesn’t allow users to discover who has watched their posted videos.
The main reason behind this is because videos typically gain a huge amount of videos on the app, meaning that it would take a complex system for Facebook to gather that data for each video posted.
When you consider that videos will typically a) reach more people and b) attract more attention and engagement than a standard Facebook post, the list that would appear featuring all the accounts that have viewed your video would be endless.
As a result, Facebook has decided against implementing this feature to their service (as of yet, anyway). Of course, if they really wanted to, a tech giant such as Facebook could provide this functionality.
However, it is difficult to see how it would provide any real benefit to themselves or their users so they haven’t invested their time or money into bringing it to life.
Though you can’t see who viewed your video – much like you can’t see who’s viewed your profile – thankfully you can see who’s viewing your video if you’re going live on Facebook.
How to see who is viewing your Facebook live video
When it comes to going live on Facebook, the matter is completely different. You can see who views your Facebook videos when you’re recording them live.
You are highly unlikely to gain as many views on a five minute live video as you would do on a video that is part of a standard Facebook post. Therefore Facebook deems it appropriate to provide functionality which allows users to see who is bothering to tune in.
During your Facebook live you will be notified with a pop up every time someone new begins to tune in. This pop up notification will also say the name of the person who has tuned in, providing you are friends with them on the platform.
If you aren’t friends with them, then you will only be notified of their name if they like or comment on the video. It’s better than nothing, though, right?
If you want to gather data about your video after your live has ended then you are now able to do so thanks to a recent update that Facebook has rolled out. To access this data, please follow these steps:
- Go on to your profile and select the video that you want to see data for.
- This should automatically open up a new tab on your web browser which will take you to a page titled ‘Live Broadcast Audience’.
- On this page you will be able to see two key metrics –
- Peak Concurrent Viewers: This data shows you the highest number of viewers you live video had at any one time.
- Viewers During Live Broadcast: This data will provide you with an insight in to how your total number of viewers ebbed and flowed during the entirety of your broadcast.
In the past, users weren’t able to see who viewed your video after you stopped going live. But thankfully, now we can. You can also see who has viewed your Facebook story in a similar fashion.
How to go live on Facebook – Quick Guide
All this data will be of no use to anyone if you don’t know how to go live on Facebook in the first place. It’s important to note first of all that going live is only an option on the mobile app and can’t be done on a desktop computer or laptop via a web browser.
To go live on Facebook, follow these simple steps:
- Log on to your account via the app.
- Underneath the status option, select the ‘live tab’.
- Grant Facebook access to your camera and microphone.
- Enter in a description of your live so that your friends on Facebook know what to expect when deciding whether to watch your live or not.
- Hit ‘go live’.
Your camera will then start recording, and you’ll be broadcasting to all of your friends on the app.
You are able to switch the camera from back to front and vice versa during a broadcast and you are also able to add filters to your video to potentially make your recording more entertaining.
To end the live broadcast, simply select ‘end live’.
To conclude, it is sadly impossible to find out which specific users have watched your videos on Facebook. As a consolation, though, you are able to see who is watching you during a Facebook live.
Though, when you’re watching a video Facebook can become slow, so it’s worth making sure that you’ve got a good connection when watching video content.