When you block someone on Messenger, what do they see?

Although Messenger is part of Facebook, the blocking process is slightly different on both platforms. For starters, blocking someone on Messenger doesn’t mean that they are blocked from viewing your profile, posts and photos on Facebook, just that they can’t contact you on Messenger.

Whereas blocking someone directly on Facebook means that you come invisible and uncontactable to that person on both the Facebook app and Messenger app.

When you block someone on Messenger what do they see? All bases covered

Due to these inconsistencies, it may leave you wondering what exactly happens when you block someone on Messenger, and especially what that person can then see in relation to your profile on the platform.

The truth is that with the Facebook Messenger Mobile app, it will be very easy for the other user to know that you’ve blocked them. The blocked person will still be able to see your past messages, but they’ll be met with an error and inability to send you anything new – a telltale sign they’ve been blocked.

Although the other person won’t be notified, they’ll can still find out they’re blocked. This leads many people to wonder how they can avoid the person without blocking them directly, as it may be a mutual friend you don’t want to upset.

If you are one of these people then you have landed in the right place because that is exactly what we are going to be looking at today. Let’s take a look.

Message threads

When you block someone on Facebook Messenger you will no longer be able to message, call or video call them and the same applies to them from their end too.

If you have a message thread open with the user you have blocked, then this thread won’t automatically be deleted and you will have to manually delete it if you want to remove all trace of them from your account.

Due to the fact that the message thread doesn’t automatically delete, the person you have blocked will still be able to click on the thread. However, they will be greeted with a message that reads ‘you can’t reply to this conversation’ on the section where messages are usually typed and sent.

This is different to the Facebook chat is unavailable error, which is typically a tech issue and comes up with a different error message when they enter the Messenger mobile app.

This will be an instant giveaway to that person that they have been blocked by you, meaning that Facebook makes it difficult for you to block someone on Messenger discreetly.

Within the thread, the two call buttons will no longer be clickable to either party and if you try to react to a certain message with an emoji then a message will pop up telling you that you will have to unblock the user first.

Stories

After you’ve blocked someone on Messenger, any stories that you post to your account will no longer be visible to that user, even if you are technically still friends on the main Facebook app.

If you post your story via the main Facebook, however, then they will still be able to access your story that way unless you block them on there too.

Online status

Your online status will no longer be visible to any blocked users on Messenger. This means that they won’t be able to see when you were last seen on the app or if you are currently online and active.

Group chats

One awkward situation that may arise when you block someone on Messenger revolves around group chats. If you are in any existing group chats with said user then you will both still be able to converse with one and other via the group chat.

The only way to avoid this possible situation is to remove yourself from all groups containing the user you have blocked.

If a situation ever arises where you are added to a group chat containing a user that you have previously blocked then Facebook will notify you with a message letting you know that someone you have blocked is part of the chat.

This is to help you to make an informed decision about whether you want to be in that particular group chat or not.

How to block someone on Messenger

If after reading this information you are satisfied with the level of privacy you will gain from blocking someone on Messenger, then you may well want to take the necessary steps to get someone blocked.

In order to do this, please follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your account via the Messenger app.
  2. Select the user that you wish to block either by opening up an existing message thread with them or by searching for their account on the search bar.
  3. Select their name to bring up a list of options.
  4. Scroll down to ‘privacy and support’ and select ‘block’.
  5. Select whether you wish to just block messages and calls or if you want to also block them on Facebook.
  6. Confirm you decision by selecting ‘block’ on the subsequent pop up.

To unblock someone on Messenger, please take these steps:

  1. Log in to your account via the Messenger app.
  2. Select your profile picture icon on the top left hand side of the screen.
  3. Select ‘privacy’ and then ‘blocked accounts’.
  4. Select the user you wish to unblock and then choose whether you want to unblock them on Messenger or across the whole of Facebook.

Conclusion

To conclude, blocking someone on Messenger doesn’t make you completely invisible to them on the app. They will still be able to access old message threads that you were both involved in and will even be able to contact you via group chats.

For a more secure way of blocking someone on the Messenger app, we would recommend blocking them across the whole of Facebook to prevent any contact from happening at all.

Photo of author

Connect: LinkedIn

Author

Andy

Andy is a Professional Content Editor with expertise in a whole host of areas (or so he tells us anyway). His main interests are sports, tv/film and social media. He has reviewed over 100 apps so far for Apps UK.

Read more from Andy

Apps UK
International House
12 Constance Street
London, E16 2DQ