Received Google Verification Code Without Requesting It? Here’s why

A google verification code is essentially something that Google does as a way of authenticating who you are. This is usually left for more important things such as password resets or new account set ups.

Usually this is done by sending a text to the phone number which you have under your account info or alternatively this can also be sent to your email. Generally, this will depend on which service you are using. For example, if you are trying to reset your Gmail password it will send you a text because, well, you can’t access your email. It’s very smart like that.

Received google verification code without requesting it

So, getting a verification is a good thing, it’s a line of defence for your account that only you can see and act upon. All good.

But what happens when you get one of these notifications when you haven’t requested it? This usually indicates that someone is trying to access your account from elsewhere. Thankfully Google has you back with this feature and they won’t be able too.

First things first, make sure that no one you know may have been the one to do it. If you are the account for whatever reason double check that the person you share the account with wasn’t the one who tried to login.

If you’ve done these checks then I’m afraid someone you don’t know is likely trying to get access to your account. But don’t worry we have the solution.

Google-verification2

Is this a problem?

Thankfully Google has these protective safeguards in place for a reason and that is to keep your account safe. There are in fact a number of issues which could have caused this, and they may not be malevolent in nature. In fact, if someone attempts to log into their account but accidentally enters your username (say they have a similar username and accidentally entered yours instead) then you will get an alert with a verification code.

For the most part this can generally be ignored. As mentioned, it’s near impossible for anyone to access your account through these means so it’s not something you particularly need to concern yourself with. I would worry if someone seems to be doing this very regularly, in this case it may be that someone is trying to maliciously access your account and in this case it’s best to do something about it…

What’s the solution?

The solution thankfully is very simple, making sure your account is completely secure is quite quick and easy in fact. A password reset. Yeah, it’s that easy, passwords are inherently very difficult to guess and while there is software out there that malicious individuals could use it’s incredibly unreliable and will never get any real results. It effectively just guesses millions of passwords, but this gets the program locked and with it being Google they have very sophisticated defence mechanisms for your account.

If this still isn’t working and you keep getting these verification messages, it would be best to contact Google themselves as they will be able to see the log in attempts for your account and give you a more accurate description of what exactly is happening. You can do the supports steps for contacting Google here: https://support.google.com/

Why does Google have verification codes?

The reason for these verification codes if very simple. Protecting your privacy. With how much people rely on Google these days if someone gets access to your account it may not be as simple as changing a few settings around, this may be your private or eve work email and Google does not want to allow this to happen.

Of course, this is fairly standard practice within big organisations it’s an extra line of defence, the overarching term for this type of system is two factor authentication. Essentially you need two factors to get into your account. In this case it would be your password and then the verification code.

Conclusion

In conclusion this is not really a worry. The fact that you are getting the code at all even if it is not one you requested is actually just an indication that Google’s privacy protection settings are working as intended to keep your account safe from any would be malicious attackers.

If you are worried, then follow the steps we’ve outlined such as resetting your password and if you continue to get these messages then contact Google to get to the bottom of the cause and they will be able to offer you a final solution and prevent this happening further.

We hope this article has helped and your worries have been alleviated.

Apps UK
International House
12 Constance Street
London, E16 2DQ