Genshin Impact is a popular mobile 3D RPG app, with high-definition graphics and voice-acting in multiple languages. The game features an extensive story you can play through, with a cast of various characters you can meet and interact with.
The game must be installed as an app in order to be played. You can’t play Genshin Impact online. Thus, there may come a time where you wish to uninstall the app, whether that be for freeing up storage space, or because you lost interest in the game.
However, the uninstallation of the game may be temporary. If so, uninstalling the app may seem like quite a daunting decision to make. You may be afraid of losing all your data if you were to uninstall the app.
We’ll go through whether this is the case, and how you can recover lost data, in this article.
If I uninstall Genshin Impact, will I lose everything?
Genshin Impact data or progress is saved in your Genshin Impact account, not the app itself. Thus, uninstalling the app will not cause you to lose your data or progress. As long as you have access to your account, you won’t lose your Genshin Impact data. Therefore, you need not worry about possible losing everything when uninstalling the Genshin Impact app. Installing the app again, and logging in, should restore your progress.
However, you should be aware of when the game last saved your progress. Genshin Impact does not have a save option, which means you cannot save the game manually. Instead, the game has an autosave function, which automatically saves the game at certain points. Your progress will be saved on the game’s servers. When you reopen the game after initially exiting, the game will load at the point where it last autosaved. Make sure you make note of when the last autosave was before you exit the game. You can retrieve this data or progress cross platform, as long as you’re logged into the same Genshin Impact account.
How to recover lost data for Genshin Impact
Since your Genshin Impact data is largely connected to your Genshin Impact account, you will lose all your game data if you lose access to this account.
In the event that you do lose access to your Genshin Impact account, there are ways to retrieve the account.
How to recover a Genshin Impact account
The first method for recovering a Genshin Impact account is by resetting your account password.
This method will only work if you have access to the email you use for your Genshin Impact account.
Go to the miHoYo login page, and click ‘forgot password’.
Type your email into the input bar, and click ‘next’ to continue.
You should be sent an email, which contains a link to reset your password. Follow the instructions to finalise the process.
Contact Customer Support
If you can’t access the email you used for your Genshin Impact account, or you simply can’t remember what the email is, you can retrieve your account through customer service.
You can only reach Genshin Impact’s customer service through email, so ensure that you have a working email before attempting to speak with the game’s support team.
You can find their email by going on their website: https://genshin.mihoyo.com/en/home.
Scroll all the way down to find the ‘contact us’ option. Click ‘contact us’ to access the customer service email.
After clicking ‘contact us’, you will be prompted to choose an app to open the email in.
If you have a working email app, it’s the best option to choose. You can formulate and send an email to the support team using the app.
Detail your issue in the email, and make ‘Account Recovery‘ the subject name.
After sending the email, you should receive an email with a link to a form.
Fill in the form as accurately as you can, and submit it. You should be able to retrieve your Genshin Impact account soon.
In conclusion, uninstalling the Genshin Impact app will not cause you to lose all your game data or progress. The data is linked to your Genshin Impact account and the game servers, not the app. Therefore, uninstalling the app should have no impact on your game data.
However, your game progress can only be saved automatically, so any gameplay that has not been autosaved will be lost when you exit the app. Be sure to make note of when the game autosaves before exiting or uninstalling the app.
On another note, losing your Genshin Impact account will result in you losing your game data. You won’t be able to access it unless you can log into your account on the app.
Fortunately, there are ways in which you can retrieve a lost account. Thus, losing your account does not necessarily mean losing your game data permanently. Fully deleting your account, however, will cause you to lose you game data permanently. So, be wary of that when deleting an account.