Hinge is one of the newer dating apps on the market, especially in comparison to older original dating sites like eHarmony and Match. We liked the app when we done our Hinge review.
It’s pretty popular, but some users will prefer other apps instead. As with most dating apps, deletion, uninstall or removal of the Hinge app is not instant.
Your profiles may remain visible for a short time after deleting, even if it is a dating app with a similar user profile. But, here’s what to do if you want to ditch Hinge for good.
How can I permanently delete Hinge?
The good news is that it’s actually extremely straightforward to delete your Hinge account, which you can do from selecting the Delete account option within your Hinge settings.
- First, click into the Settings of your Hinge account.
- Next, Select the Delete Account option from the menu.
- You’ll then be asked to confirm your Hinge account deletion.
Hinge has been described by many users as surprisingly easy to use, and fortunately it’s easy enough to cancel your account too.
Make sure to cancel your Hinge Preferred subscription?
Those who upgraded to the Hinge Preferred plan will definitely want to read this, because deleting this application does not automatically cancel your Hinge subscription.
Many users delete Hinge and expect this to happen automatically, but unfortunately this isn’t actually the case.
Because payments are made via Apple’s App Store or Google Play Store, you should log into the account with your Apple or Google account used when you signed up for Hinge. This is where you can cancel your Hinge account subscription.
It is important you do this as otherwise additional charges will continue to come in when it renews automatically.
The subscription you selected should be removed at the same time that you delete Hinge from your phone.
What Happens When You Delete Hinge?
Remember that when you select Delete Account in the Hinge options, the app is not only removed from your phone completely, but you also lose all your data too.
This will be including match details and all of your previous conversations within the app, and there’s no way of claiming them back when you’ve deleted your account.
Your profile will not be added to the Discover database anymore, and you’ll be completely deleted from the “Match” and “Like You” pages. So, make sure your decision is final before choosing to delete your Hinge account content.
Reasons to Delete Your Hinge Account
There are various different reasons why users may want to delete their Hinge account.
Maybe your system isn’t working, or potentially you may have found someone and no longer want to be part of the online dating scene.
Sometimes it’s because people create multiple profiles, or people delete the same profile every now and then to get a new badge in the app.
There’s also a lot less users in comparison to other popular dating apps like Tinder and Bumble, which have a much larger user base.
Therefore, signing up for a Hinge Preferred subscription may not make sense when you can get greater reach with other apps.
Some users just really don’t like the Hinge app. There have been complaints about bots and fake users on the platform, which therefore result in little or no liking, match or conversation.
The good news is that profile details are deleted to protect your personal information and prevent any future disclosures.
The e-mail you provide on Hinge will be secure too, so you don’t need to worry about data leaks.
Hinge is an international dating app with 10s of million of members worldwide. Like most mobile apps, it uses location to find a suitable partner for you within a close distance.
However, Hinge isn’t the right dating app for everyone, and in some cases, you may want to delete your Hinge account.
The good thing is that you can delete an account and erase your contact details from Hinge very easily with just a few clicks of a button.
Then, you can move onto creating a new dating account with another platform.